Agent Product News

Maps · Discovery, not in-chat checkout

Agentic Commerce

Updated 2026-09-01. Brief: The 2026 reversal, and the Amazon vacuum.

2026 reversed the demo: assistants find the product, retailers keep checkout. The fight is whether your feed is machine-readable, not whether you integrated a chat checkout API.

Protocols

ACP

Agentic Commerce Protocol. Stripe + OpenAI; docs now also credit Meta.

Entry
Apache 2.0, spec 2026-04-17
First shipped
Sep 29, 2025

Open standard for agent checkout. 25+ endorsers (Etsy, URBN, Coach, Best Buy).

Protocols

AP2

Google Agent Payments Protocol, donated to FIDO (Apr 28, 2026).

Entry
Open, FIDO-hosted
First shipped
Sep 16, 2025

Identity and intent, not a storefront. Mastercard Verifiable Intent sits on it.

Protocols

UCP

Universal Commerce Protocol. Google plus a retailer coalition.

Entry
Open standard
First shipped
Jan 11, 2026

The retailer-friendly rail: Shopify, Walmart, Target, Wayfair, Visa, Mastercard, Amex.

Protocols

Visa Intelligent Commerce Connect

Protocol-agnostic on-ramp. Accepts TAP, MPP, ACP, UCP.

Entry
Visa-run
Adopters
Cloudflare, AWS, Highnote, Mesh, Payabli

This is why you should not bet the roadmap on one protocol.

Protocols

Mastercard Agent Pay / AP4M

Mastercard-run agent payments plus FIDO Verifiable Intent.

Entry
Mastercard-run
Dates
Jan 7 / Jun 10, 2026

30+ partners including Stripe, Adyen, Coinbase, Cloudflare.

Protocols

Web Bot Auth

Cloudflare → IETF draft on RFC 9421. Agent identity for the card networks.

Entry
IETF draft
Year
2025

Visa, Mastercard, and Amex all build agent-identity checks on it.

Surfaces

ChatGPT Shopping

Discovery plus ads. Instant Checkout walked back Mar 24, 2026.

Entry
Ads: CPC, self-serve from May 2026
Checkout
~a dozen Shopify merchants live as of Mar 2026
Ranking
Availability, price, seller type, quality, primary seller, Instant Checkout

Feed is Google Merchant Center-compatible. Peec says the catalog is a re-rank of Google Shopping's top ~40.

Surfaces

Alexa for Shopping

Rufus + Alexa+ merged May 13, 2026. The only surface already at revenue scale.

Entry
Seller lever: ads. Organic: a support ticket.
Ads
Sponsored Prompts GA Mar 25, 2026 — auto-enrolled, no opt-out
Organic
Fix the PDP, file a ticket with ASIN + screenshot

Rufus 2025: 300M users, ~$12B incremental GMV. Q1 2026 MAU +115%, engagement +400%. Official seller dashboard: none.

Surfaces

Shopify Agentic Storefronts

Default distribution layer for SMB brands. Catalog cleans the feed once.

Entry
On by default; Global Catalog has paid placements
Claim
2× conversion in AI chats (Shopify)

One connection to ChatGPT, AI Mode, Gemini, Copilot, Meta. Second confirmed agentic ad slot.

Surfaces

Microsoft Copilot Checkout

US checkout via Stripe, PayPal, Shopify. Shopify merchants auto-enrolled after opt-out.

Entry
Live US, Jan 8, 2026

Default-on distribution, same pattern as Shopify's agentic storefronts.

Surfaces

Google AI Mode / Gemini

UCP checkout via Google Pay. Retailer stays seller of record. Universal Cart across retailers.

Entry
Merchant Center: share of voice on AI surfaces

Cleaning the Google feed is the highest-leverage single action: it feeds AI Mode and, per Peec, ChatGPT Shopping.

Surfaces

Perplexity Shopping

Buy with Pro plus a free Merchant Program. Product cards described as unsponsored.

Entry
Merchant Program, free

March 2026: a US judge blocked Comet from shopping inside users' Amazon accounts. First legal marker.

Surfaces

Walmart Sparky

Walmart's in-ChatGPT app. Walmart co-developed UCP.

Entry
Seller Center: listing rewrite only, no Sparky visibility

Same vacuum as Amazon: the retailer agent is live; the seller dashboard is not.

Surfaces

Meta Buy Now

Instagram/Facebook Buy Now tests (Stripe/PayPal), plus Amazon/eBay/Temu tie-ups.

Entry
Testing

Social surface, not a protocol play. Watch, don't build against it yet.

Visibility

Profound Shopping

Shopping Mode Rate, ranking, merchant layer, feed diagnostics. ChatGPT only.

Entry
Not separately priced
Launched
Nov 13, 2025

Dashboard, not write-back. API docs: model = ChatGPT, no filter.

Visibility

Peec Shopping

Per-SKU win rate, price gaps, co-occurrence, buyer destination. ChatGPT only.

Entry
Bundled, no add-on price
Launched
Jun 17, 2026

Exposed ChatGPT Shopping as a re-rank of Google Shopping. Rufus still 'internal testing' as of Sep 1.

Visibility

GetMint AI Shopping

SKU recs across ChatGPT, AI Mode, Copilot, and Alexa for Shopping.

Entry
Starter $80/month already includes Alexa

Only one of the original three GEO names that actually shipped Rufus/Alexa.

Visibility

Azoma

Broadest surface list found, plus write-back into Amazon Seller/Vendor Central.

Entry
Not disclosed
Surfaces
Alexa, COSMO, Sparky, LazzieChat, Target, ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, Meta AI, Siri
Funding
$4M pre-A (Dec 2025); eBay Ventures × Techstars

This is the Amazon vacuum product. Citation intelligence on what Rufus reads.

Visibility

Wildcard

YC W25. Per-SKU visibility, JSON-LD enrichment published to Shopify. Not a SaaS-customer tool.

Entry
Free audit; pricing not disclosed
Surfaces
ChatGPT, Gemini, AIO, Perplexity, Claude, Sparky, Alexa+; Rufus beta

Write-back to Shopify. Rufus in beta. Explicitly not for SaaS brands.

Visibility

eCommerce Insights

Per-SKU citation ledger, Agent-Readability Score, PDP diffs to Shopify.

Entry
Not disclosed

Write-back camp. Rufus + COSMO + Sparky are on channel plans, not every scan.

Visibility

Syndigo

Incumbent PXM. ACP-compliant feed into ChatGPT plus GEO enrichment with source/timestamp/approval.

Entry
Not disclosed
Shopping launch
Oct 20, 2025 (OpenAI Connect + GEO)

Feed platforms will absorb agentic commerce as a connector, not a startup category.

Visibility

Salsify IQ

Incumbent PXM. AEO copy, schema healing, approved attributes exposed to agents.

Entry
Not disclosed
Launch
May 5, 2026

Same motion as Syndigo: don't buy a fourth dashboard if the PIM already speaks agent.